Things I’ll (hopefully) never know

            It’s time for me to take a break from my regular preaching routine to formally acknowledge and honor the thousands of innocent victims who met their deaths on September 11th 2001.  These people did not expect or deserve what happened to them any more than the rest of us.  I want to stress the fact that I feel sympathy for all of them and their families as much as I am able to. However, as someone who has been blessed with a stable, accident-free life, I cannot really relate to what they went through.  I do not know, and hopefully will never know, what it is like to experience something like that.  I do not remember having ever been at the funeral of someone under 50 years of age. I have no idea what it is like to have a loved one unexpectedly snatched away from you in the prime of their life. I wish to assure the survivors, as well as the families of the victims, that my prayers are still with them today, just like they were with them 9 years ago when I first learned about the tragedy during chapel hour at Bible college. I am a very opinionated person with strong, definite views about religion, but this does not keep me from feeling sorrow for all of those who were harmed by the events of that horrible day, even if they disagree with me about the things that I am writing in these posts.  My heart goes out to all Christians, Muslims, Jews, Hindus, atheists, and others who were cruelly slaughtered that day.  As for the survivors, may God cause you to prosper and come to the light of the knowledge of the truth of the gospel. Amen.

_______________________________

 
The depths of scare they had to bear           
            My heart cannot expound.
And if it could I never would
            Attempt to write it down.
These lines were made to serve as aid  
            For intellectual gain,  
But in the end I don’t pretend
            To understand their pain.
 
The ones who died deserve our pride
            At least for what they bore.
The lists of names are halls of fame
            For this and so much more.
And that is why I’m sworn to try
            To pay the most respect.
You can be sure I won’t endure
            To see their mem’ries wrecked.

(Excerpt from Chapter Four of the September 11th Epic Poem).

0 Responses to “Things I’ll (hopefully) never know”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

