Thoughts and Prayers on September 11, 2011

Greetings in the name of Jesus Christ, Lord and Savior of the world. Today is a sad day for many who lost families in the tragic events of ten years ago. Honestly, if you are someone who lost a loved one in the attacks of September 11th, I must admit that I do not know what you are going through. God has kept me from experiencing these kinds of disasters in my personal life, and I pray that He will continue to do so. But I also pray that you will find the comfort and peace that you are looking for.

Those of you who have read parts of my Epic Poem know that I am an opinionated person. I do not apologize for this. I am unashamed of the fact that I believe that repentance and Faith in Jesus as the sacrifice for your sins is the only way to be reconciled to God. Nevertheless, I do not want to be insensitive towards others who disagree with me, especially today. The Bible says that I must remember to “speak the truth in love” (Ephesian 4:15). So I am giving fair warning to those who have not yet read the Poem that it is opinionated and, at times, slightly graphic. My goal in writing this poem was not to make people relive the tragedies of 9/11, but at the same time I wanted my readers to realize that the things that happened that day were truly awful, and the evil that struck that day was truly terrible. So at times in the poem I am a little bit blunt about some of the unpleasant realities of life. I hope that this does not offend anyone, and I hope I have not gone too far.

So that said, feel free to read the poem, and then come back to this post here and comment. Tell me what you think of it if you feel like it. I will keep this post on the top of my website all day. Or else, if you would prefer, talk about something else besides my poem. Share your experiences and memories of that day, or the spiritual journey that you have been on in the last ten years. I want to hear what you think even if you disagree with me. I don’t just want to hear people agreeing with me. However, if you do disagree with me, try extra hard to be sensitive and careful in your responses today, out of respect for the dead. I will try to do the same likewise, and hopefully  the comments posted on this website today will glorify God.

 

I want to close by praying that God will grant Peace on this September 11th to all who are looking for it.

 

-Daniel Schilling,

Author of the September 11th Epic Poem.

0 Responses to “Thoughts and Prayers on September 11, 2011”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

